Welcome New Batch - AWS Solution Architect (Associate) is starting Today 03/22/2021
Home / Blog / AWS Certification Cost and Type of AWS Certification Exam

AWS Certification Cost and Type of AWS Certification Exam

updated on 27 Aug, 2020

AWS Certification Cost and Type of AWS Certification Exam

If you look around, you will see everyone is trying to grab some experience in cloud computing as it is the hottest trend in 2020, that is shaping the information and technology landscape. Every single organization, big or small, are working on transferring their applications along with legacy systems on the cloud to work more efficiently. Thus, cloud computing professionals are in high demand right now. 

Before looking into the AWS certification costs, let us understand the importance of AWS certification.

Why is AWS Certification Important?

AWS stands for Amazon Web Services, which is the accumulation of more than 100 cloud services that help companies by giving them the power to compute and maintain their security of the databases, storage, and several other services, which as a company they can't afford. 

Having presented itself as the world leader in the market of cloud infrastructure, Amazon Web Services is still miles ahead from its pack. One research from the Synergy research group showed us the power of AWS on the global cloud market, covering 33% of the market in the fourth quarter of 2019. As a result, AWS cloud architect certification has now become the most sought after certification done by IT employees to attain a better package for themselves. Today, we are going to discuss AWS certification costs in India in cities such as Bangalore, Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, etc. along with its benefits. We will also try to solve your dilemma of whether you need to have an AWS certification or not.

After going through the importance, let us look into the list of AWS certifications before we get into the AWS certification cost.

AWS Certification List

AWS certifications can be divided into two main categories: Core Certifications and Speciality Certifications.

The Core Certifications can be further divided into three knowledge areas. These include architecture, development, and operations. The skill levels offered for these areas are foundational courses, associate courses, and professional courses. 

Meanwhile, the specialty certifications target certain specific IT disciplines. These include Big Data, Networking, and Information Security. 

1. AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

This course works for non-technical job roles. It is a standalone credential for those seeking jobs as C-suite executives, sales and marketing associates.

2. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate

This AWS Solutions Architect certification showcases your ability to design and deploy effective solutions on the AWS platform. It is ideal for those who wish to enter the cloud architecting space.

3. AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate

This is a course for expertise in deploying, scaling, migrating, and managing AWS systems. Before taking the exam, it is ideal if you have some practical experience in managing cloud applications.

4. AWS Certified Developer – Associate

This course gives you a certification to design and maintain AWS applications. It is ideal if candidates have working experience before taking the course. It also helps if they know a minimum of one high-level programming language.

5. AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Professional

This is an advanced course for expertise in the design of distributed systems and applications on the AWS platform. You need an AWS Solutions Architect Associate certificate before undertaking this course. Relevant experience in the field is also ideal.

6. AWS Certified DevOps Engineer – Professional

The AWS Certified Developer or AWS Certified SysOps Administrator associate certificate is needed before undertaking this advanced course. Two years of relevant experience is also preferred.

7. AWS Certified Security – Specialty

This course gives you an understanding of specialized data classifications, data encryption methods, and secure internet protocols. You need a minimum of five years of IT security experience before undertaking this course.

8. AWS Certified Big Data – Specialty

To undertake this specialized course, candidates must have at least one of the 3 AWS Associate certifications listed above. Experience in Data Analytics of up to 5 years is also needed.

9. AWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty

This course teaches you the skills to design and deploy AWS as part of a hybrid IT network architecture. You need to have one or more AWS Associate credentials before undertaking this course. Five years of relevant experience is also needed.

11. AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty

This course is for individuals who wish to perform a data scientist role. The course enables you to design and implement cost-optimized and reliable ML solutions.

12. AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder – Specialty

This course is ideal for those who wish to build, test, and publish Amazon Alexa skills. Proficiency in at least one programming language and 6 months of hands-on experience building Alexa skills is necessary before opting for this course.